Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

What Books are out Today

Have you noticed a lot of our most anticipated YA books get released on Tuesdays? Well if you haven't, now you have. A lot, and I mean a lot of books get released today. Now you readers will have the intel on what books get released today, or at least my eagerly anticipated released books.

So welcome to my "Release Day" November 7th edition...

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Blog Tour~ TimeKeeper


Hello everyone! In celebration of the upcoming release of the paperbacks for TimerKeeper by Tara Sim releasing, Thomas Allen & Son has teamed up with some bloggers to put together an awesome Blog Tour. This blog tour will include exclusive excerpts for Chainbreaker (book 2), a review, and a chance to win a paperback of TimeKeeper. 

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Blog Tour~The Hanging Girl


Hello everyone! Today is my stop on The Hanging Girl blog tour hosted by Raincoast Books. Also along with having my tour stop today, it is also the release of this book. So happy release day, and make sure to pick up your copy.
I will be reviewing this book, which I loved quite a bit. As well, us bloggers were given an opportunity to ask the author one question, so stay tuned to the end of the post to see what Eileen Cook's answer was to my question.

Monday, October 2, 2017

ARC Review~They Both Die at the End



Adam Silvera does it again with another heart warming yet equalling breaking novel. They Both Die at the End tells a tale of two boys who receive phone calls early in the money stipulating that they have 24 hours left to live. They embark on a journey which in turn starts with them finding each other on the "last friend app". The storyline was magnificent and entertaining. The characters were so real and easy to connect too. Both components led to a great and enjoyable read.   

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Many books releasing today...


Hello readers, today marks the start of a new feature or post I would like to incorporate into my weekly schedule. Have you noticed a lot of of our most anticipated YA books get released on Tuesdays? So this lead me to thinking about sharing my most anticipated releases for that day. Thus creating a new weekly feature I could do

So welcome to my "September Releases" September 12th edition...

Sunday, September 10, 2017

The Rebels of Gold



Hello readers, today I am sharing the cover of the final Loom Saga book. This book is a book that has been on my radar for a while it signifies many great things.
It marks the ending of a series I have fallen in love with, and it marks the ending of another series for Elise Kova. As a reader of Elise Kova's work, it's clear that she has grown as an author through her writing. 

So without further ado I will share the cover of The Rebels of Gold, the final installment in the Loom saga.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Author of the Month~September


September is a new month and with it comes a whole new "Author of the Month", now I know that i haven't had the chance to do this feature in a while. However, I recently read a book in July and fell in love with the author's work. So I took a chance and emailed the author right away. She was kind enough to respond and thus making her my September "Author of the Month." 

Some of you may have read her most recent book, The Last Magician, but she does have three previously published books as well. ALSO stay tuned till the end of this post because there is a giveaway in store!

My September Author of the Month is....
Lisa Maxwell.

Friday, September 1, 2017

Monthly Wrap-Up August


Hello Readers! Another Month has gone by, and with it came a few exciting things. Though this post is a day late I still wanted to share my reading and blogging activity for this month.
The Hunting Prince Dracula Tour went live with some extraordinary posts already happening. I am participating in The Reading Quest, and I've read many books, this lovely month.

As well, September will be a very exciting month coming forth because I not only have an Author of the Month. I start University, which is pretty nerve wrecking but exciting. Lastly it's my birthday this month!

Now to get onto my August Wrap-up...

A Court of Thorns and Roses U.K. ARC by Sara J Maas
The Hummingbird Heart by A.G. Howard
Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

Raincoast:
Foolish Hearts by Emily Mills
The Midnight Dance by Nikki Katz
The Hearts We Sold
The Hummingbird Heart
One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus
Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
Heir of Fire by Sarah J Maas
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas
Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco
Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


Saturday, August 19, 2017

Announcing The Knights of Whitechapel blog Tour


Hello readers! Today I get to announce a very special thing that a few bloggers have help me put together. Last year before the release of Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco, The Knights of Whitechapel hosted a street team blog tour. Ava the head of the group had put it together.

This year, Ava has been a little busy, so she let me take on the role of organizing a blog tour that will for a month before the release date of Hunting Prince Dracula. The posts have all been created by the bloggers who wanted to partake, and this street team has been amazing.

The Hunting Prince Dracula blog tour will start on August 21st and end on September 20th, along the way you can enter every day for a chance at winning an ARC of Hunting Prince Dracula, that will be international for all to enter on each blog a post is featured. The giveaway will also be at the end of this post as well, but does not start until the 21st. 

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:


Sallot Leon is a thief, and a good one at that. But gender fluid Sal wants nothing more than to escape the drudgery of life as a highway robber and get closer to the upper-class and the nobles who destroyed their home. 

Friday, August 11, 2017

The Reading Quest


Hello readers! Today I am announcing my official entry and registration for The Reading Quest hosted by Read At Midnight. I came across this little challenge from a friend and thought that it was a fantastic way to rid my TBR of some books. The challenge starts on August 13th and goes until September 10th. If you want to find out more about game play and all the rule, make sure to check out the sign up post.

My chosen character path is that of a Knight, Read at Midnight through in the artwork and ability to create our own characters, so here's my character with their current XP and level. My goal is to do a weekly update to show for what I've accomplished.

Thursday, August 10, 2017

ARC Review~The Hummingbird Heart



The Hummingbird Heart by A.G. Howard is the sequel to The Architect Song, but don't let that worry you. This book takes place 19 years after the first one finishes and focuses on the children of the original pairing. It can be read as a stand alone, and you'd still completely understand what is going. However I do believe you get a stronger connection to the characters if you read The Architect of Song first. I have been a reader of A.G. Howard for a while now, loving each and every story she's crafts, but I am going to say that this one may prevail to be my favourite. 

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:



Set 19 years after The Architect of Song.

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

ARC Review~ The Hearts We Sold


The Hearts We Sold was a book that exceeded my expectations, with twists I didn't see coming. However I had minor complications as a reader getting into the read at the beginning. It turned out to be a great read with some loved characters. 

Monday, July 31, 2017

Monthly Wrap-up~ July


Hello readers! Today marks the end of the month and with it comes my first wrap up post. I've been meaning to do a post like this forever, and with June marking my two years of blogging I felt like it was time to incorporate something new. 

A lot of fun things happened this month, I organized a blog tour that'll have more information coming very soon, I've been working lots, and i received a lot of awesome books. OH and I redesigned my blogs look a bit. 

Monday, July 24, 2017

ARC Review~ The Last Magician


Stop the Magician. Steal the book. Save the future. 


The Last Magician by Lisa Maxwell, was an extraordinary read, had a well-written storyline, as well as clever characters to go along with it. The story felt unique, the heist was grand, and the characters always left you questioning. Overall the story and setting were extraordinary and Maxwell did a brilliant job at crafting this tale.

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Review~Nevernight


“The books we love, they love us back. And just as we mark our places in the pages, those pages leave their marks on us. I can see it in you, sure as I see it in me. You're a daughter of the words. A girl with a story to tell.” 

Monday, June 26, 2017

Happy Birthday Beyond the Book Reviews


HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO BEYOND THE BOOK REVIEWS!
How exciting is this? To think that I decided to go and create a bookish blog two years ago.

This past year has been such a fulfilling experience. I have come so far in the book and blogging community, and I have met so many amazing people. Some whom even live in my city.

One thing that makes this year even better than the last is the countless and contiunious support I get from my readers. I value each and every single comment, as well as the countless views on each post. It means the world to me to know that there are people out there who take the time to follow and look at my blog. So thank you to the readers who have been there since the start, and thank you to those who just recently decided to take a chance on me.

IN this post I will be sharing some highlighted moments and accomplishments that have taken place within the past year. Some thank you's and honourable mentions to some bloggers who I have met and couldn't have survived the year without. ALSO at the bottom I'll have a total of 4 giveaways.

So without further ado, lets get to sharing.

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Reader's Response Week~ Genre: Fantasy



Hello everyone, today is day seven of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is YA Fantasy again, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Thief of Lies by Brenda Drake.

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Friday, June 23, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Historical


Hello everyone, today is day seven of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is Historical Fiction again, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Dreamland Burning by Jennifer Letham

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Mystery


Hello everyone, today is day two of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is YA Mystery, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco.

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Horror


Hello everyone, today is day fifth of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is YA Horror, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Bruised by Justin Holley.

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Science Fiction



Hello everyone, today is day four of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is Science Fiction, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Monday, June 19, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Contemporary



Hello everyone, today is day three of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is Contemporary, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandall.

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Reader's Response Week~Genre: Historical



Hello everyone, today is day two of my Reader's Response week. Today's genre is YA Historical, and the book that I have chosen to take a better look at is Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh.

If you want to find out more about why this week is happening and a little bit about this feature, check out my launch post for the Genre of YA Fantasy.

Saturday, June 17, 2017

Reader Response Week~Genre: Fantasy



Hello readers! Today and for the next week I'll be featuring a new series of posts on my blog. It came from the idea of my Author of the Month posts and an English assignment.

Author of the Month has been a fun feature for me during the past year because I got the opportunity to interview some of my favourite authors. However most of those interview were rather generic and didn't pertain to a certain novel the author had written. So I thought it would be a fun activity to showcase for the next week some "Reader Response" interviews conducted with an author for every one of my favourite YA genre categories.

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.
This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Friday, June 2, 2017

ARC Review~ The Lines We Crossed


I believe this is a book that everyone should read. This book covers the current topic of refugees in an accurate representation from both parties; those coming into the country and those already living within the country. I know this book's setting is within Australia, however the issues addressed throughout the novel are definitely issues that occur in Canada as well. 

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating. 

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Monday, May 22, 2017

ARC Review~ The Daughter of the Pirate King


~Review~

This book held me captive as the story unfolded before my eyes. Each character sparked something unique in the plot as well. I will say that certain aspects of the book felt a little predictable and I saw some thing coming however it didn't affect me falling in love with this read. 

Thursday, May 18, 2017

ARC Review~ The Traitors Kiss


~Review~

The Traitor's Kiss by Erin Beaty was a interesting read, when I had heard that it was a Mulan retelling my heart was super excited. I grew up watching Mulan so much that my VHS broke... YES my VHS. Going into reading Traitor's Kiss I was a little worried because before I had received the novel I noticed a lot of people were not content with it, but this book did hold its own. I kept my eyes open, and I did find a couple problematic things, however my overall consensus was that this book was a good read.

Let's start off by discussing the actually story line and the likeness to Mulan. It was interesting to find some comparisons routed in the story, as well as the twists. I think that the story generally followed the idea of of Mulan, with the fact of not wanting to be forced into a marriage and having a strong headed female. As well as the whole idea of a hidden identity played a role in this novel. The one major problematic thing is that this was a white retelling of Mulan with the cultural ideals of that of a Chinese background. So though this was a huge disappointing factor as a reader and lover of Mulan, the rest of the storyline had complexity and coherence as well as a impact on me as a reader.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating. 

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:



One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.
 


I am super excited for this read because I am definitely getting some major Breakfast Club feels, minus of course that one of them ends up dead. Are you looking forward to reading this book?

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

ARC Review~The Names They Gave Us


~Review~
The Name They Gave Us was a heartbreak I was not prepared for. Emery is amazing at making swoon worthy characters, and this book had it but it also had a deeper surface that was graced. It made my heart hurt. I cried twice over and still managed to fall in love with this book. The characters were amazing, and the story was well planned throughout the entire read. As well the book really did portray a diverse set of characters which allowed for the story being told to have a greater impact on readers.